What I am thankful for plus picks

What am I thankful for? That is the question I ask myself every Thanksgiving when I wake up as watch some of the Macys Thanksgiving Day Parade until football starts. By the way we have some great football games this year on Thanksgiving. Even the “dinner break” game we thought we were getting between the Cowboys and Dolphins is now a bit intriguing by the fact of the Dolphins 3 game winning streak. But, until I get down to my Turkey Day picks I would like to share with you what I am grateful for this year. My list is in no particular order in case you are wondering.

I am thankful for my health. Our health can be taken from us at anytime. For example, my cousins good friend just got diagnosed with stage 4 cancer. She is a sophomore in high school and has less than a year to live. I pray every day for her and I hope all of you can take a few seconds out of your day to pray for this girl and reflect on your health and how lucky “we” have it to be able to know we have a full life ahead of us.

I am thankful for the ability to be writing these posts for you every week.

I am thankful for fantasy football.

I am thankful for football in general.

I am thankful for my dog Sparky.

I am thankful for a great group of friends that I have. I can count on all of them for anything at any time of day and I am very lucky to have a luxury of having so many friends like that in my life.

I am thankful for the NBA not playing this year due to ego issues. No NBA = another year of Lebron not getting a championship.

I am thankful for the Arizona Cardinals. All of my best memories growing up are of going to Cardinals games with my family.

I am thankful for my job. I may talk down about the Hut many times, but I am thankful to have a job and to work with some great people.

I am thankful for my girlfriend. She is the most amazing and sweetest person in the world and am lucky to have her in my life.

I am thankful for the holiday season.

I am thankful for my entire family. Our love as a family gives me the courage and motivation to go out and live my life and to be the best person that I can be.

I am thankful for everyone reading what I am thankful for when in reality you could care less. I will finally get onto the picks for Thanksgiving day football.

Green Bay Packers 31 at Detroit Lions 26

Did you know the Lions have played on Thanksgiving every year since 1934? I bet you didn’t even know they played on Turkey day since Barry Sanders retired. Well, the Lions are relevent again and playing a huge game against the undefeated and hated Green Bay Packers. Once the emotions settle down a bit I can’t see the Lions defense stopping Rodgers and the Packers defense will do just enough to keep the Lions from outscoring the Packers and to keep the Pack undefeated.

Miami Dolphins 20 at Dallas Cowboys 30

The Miami Dolphins have not only lost Andrew Luck, but they are on the verge of losing out on any other quarterback in the draft if they keep this up. They have won 3 straight games and Matt Moore looks to be their quarterback of the future. If the Cowboys get ahead big in this one at least most of us have a fantasy player or two on the Cowboys and hopefully they can all share the touchdowns for us (Demarco Murray).

San Fransisco 49ers 16 at Baltimore Ravens 24

The “Harbaugh Bowl” is a great way to end the night unless you are a Cardinals or Steelers fan and can not stand the sight of seeing success for either of these teams. Any time they talk about these teams I have to turn off the TVs because of my hatred for the 49ers. Not going to lie that this is a bias pick and my hope the Niners can finally lose again. For the record the Niners will not be making a playoff run by kicking field goals all game.

The rest of my picks will be up on Friday…hopefully I can be bragging about a perfect day of picks.

I wish everyone a Happy Thanksgiving and hope everyone has a great day with those closest to them.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About jeffreysanders

Jeffrey Sanders writes for the Puma Press at Paradise Valley Community College in Phoenix, Arizona. He is supported by his family, friends, and his girlfriend. Sports is his life as he is an avid follower of the MLB, NBA, NFL, and NHL. He hopes to attend the Walter Cronkite school of Journalism in the fall of 2012.

Leave a Reply

